Green Fig and Lionfish

Green Fig and Lionfish

Sustainable Caribbean Cooking (Eco Cookbook, Celebrity Chef, for Fans of My Modern Caribbean Kitchen or Ziggy Marley and Family Cookbook)

Allen Susser

$14.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

To use the book as a way of communicating about the joys of Caribbean cooking and culture and the need for sustainable actions to preserve that foodways. To introduce lionfish as a delicious eating fish to many folks who do not know it. Sharing the versatility of fish cookery with seasonal ingredients. Encouraging more people to care where their food comes from and to have them realize that their choices can make a difference.


Author

Allen Susser:
Chef Allen Susser is a James Beard Award winning Chef. He has a passionate commitment to local fresh ingredients. The New York Times called Allen the “Ponce De Leon of New Florida cooking”. His landmark restaurant changed the way people ate in Miami forever, and effected how we all eat today. Food & Wine magazine named Chef Allen "One of the Best 10 Chefs in America". Chef Allen’s Consulting is a boutique sustainable restaurant and hospitality consulting firm - providing strategic initiative, culinary resources, and innovative direction for the industry. One of his current projects is pioneering chocolate in St Lucia, West Indies. His Emerald Estate Vintage Chocolate is a bean to bar authentically hand-crafted Chocolate. Susser is currently a spokesman for the National Mango Board and is a Culinary Ambassador for the Monterey Bay Aquarium for its sustainable seafood watch. He received an honorary Doctor of Culinary Arts from Johnson and Wales University. And received the President's Award for community service from Florida International University. He is the original author of New World Cuisine and Cookery (Doubleday, 1995), The Great Citrus Book (Ten Speed Press, 1997) and The Great Mango Book, (Ten Speed Press, 2001).

Info

Reviews