A Dangerous Goodbye

A Dangerous Goodbye

An absolutely gripping historical mystery

Fliss Chester

$2.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

Your lost love never came home after the war. Would you risk everything to find out what happened to him?

1944. While war rages in Europe, Fenella Churche is doing her bit in the green fields of England. But when she finds a letter addressed to her on the scrubbed farmhouse table, she knows the news won’t be good. She hasn’t heard from her fiancé Arthur since he was posted to France on a dangerous undercover mission, and from his very first words she knows he may not be coming back.

I fear this may be my last letter to you, my darling, Arthur writes. Fen won’t give up hope and calls the war office, wanting to know if Arthur is still alive; they refuse to tell her anything. Searching for answers, she returns to his letter, but parts of it just don’t make sense. Through her tears Fen realises that her darling Arthur is giving her all the clues she needs to find out what happened to him.

1945. With the war behind them and nothing left for her in England, Fen travels to the deceptively pretty French village where she thinks Arthur might be, but there’s no sign of him. She’s close to giving up when she finds his silver cigarette case and another letter full of clues. But when the local priest is killed, it’s clear someone wants to keep wartime secrets buried. If Arthur, a brilliant spy, was outwitted and betrayed, can Fen stay alive long enough to find out what happened to the man she loves?

A gripping story of war, mystery, espionage and murder. Fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd and Rhys Bowen will absolutely adore this unputdownable World War Two murder mystery.

Readers absolutely adore A Dangerous Goodbye!

I was totally captivated from the very beginning and as the book progressed, the most amazing story evolved. There were so many times I was holding my breath. Fen was such an amazing character: a strong, no nonsense type, but amazing with her cryptic clues. It’s been a sheer joy and pleasure to read this outstanding book. I can’t praise this book enough.’

An enthralling murder mystery story set in France in 1945. Well written, with characters you believe in and root for, fab setting descriptions and a mystery to solve, this is a thoroughly enjoyable read.’ Goodreads Reviewer

A perfect historical mystery! What a beginning!I could not put this book down and look forward to more from Ms. Chester.’ Goodreads Reviewer

A wonderful historical mystery and a fantastic start to a new series… A satisfying conclusion. I admit to having difficulty putting this book down and I look forward to the next in the series…


Author

Info

Reviews